Beyond The Score

Central Vermont Sports Blog

RadRover Rides with Roger

leave a comment »

RadRover_003.jpg

Last May I bought an electric bike after a couple of years of research and trying various ebikes. Larry Gilbert of Zoom Bikes in East Montpelier was a great help! He is very knowledgeable and I learned a lot from him but I was looking for a bike that I could ride on the terrible roads in and around Montpelier VT. A Fat tire ebike seemed like the way to go so I checked out several fat tire bikes in the area. None were ebikes and all very expensive. That’s when I came across Rad Power Bikes in Seattle WA and settled for a RadRover ($1499); 48 volt battery, 750 watt motor, etc.

It could handle the hills of Vermont and carry a fat guy like me (205lbs). So I ordered one and haven’t looked back. As of August 24, 2016 I have ridden 638 miles. I would ride more each day if the battery would allow but because of the hills and my weight I’m only able to ride about 16-18 miles a day. I have to time my return home carefully or I’ll be peddling this 60+ lb bike and 205 lb body up Towne Hill Road and it isn’t easy. It does have a 7 Speed Shimano rear derailleur but I’d need more like 27 speed to handle the hills without the motor assist.

I’ve ordered another battery so I can extend my ride but as usual Rad Power Bikes are OUT  of  STOCK  most of the time especially with accessories. Tech Support and Sales are awesome. You call (800) 939-0310 and a knowledgeable friendly person will answer.

accessories_RAD_ROVER_VT.jpg

I bought fenders (Rad Power Bikes), rear mountain rack (Onion River Sports), a wireless tail light under the seat (Amazon – ONEU Bike Tail Light) an iPhone mount for making videos and a pricy heavy duty Abus uGrip Bordo 5700 folding bike lock.

I’ve started using Runtastic app on my iPhone 6 to track my rides. It does a great job of using GPS to map everywhere I’ve been and also collects all kinds of data related to elevation, speed, pace, weather, etc. It even shares the info with socail media apps if you choose. Tech Support at Runtastic is absolutely terrible. Mostly generic automated responses to your tech questions. Great app – Lousy Support . . .

Lately I’ve been sharing some brief videos of my rides. You can check them out here.

RAD ROVER RIDES with ROGER –JUNE   Short ride on Summer Solstice day in Vermont plus a few pics of the bike. I’ve had this bike a few months now and can’t spend enough time on it.

RAD ROVER RIDES with ROGER – JULY   After spending sometime with friends at the Cabot VT July 4th Parade,  I rode 16 miles on the Lamoille Valley Rail Trail. This 2 minute clip shows brief sections from Cambridge to Morrisville Vermont. Walkers, runners, bikes and dogs enjoy this busy trail.

RAD ROVER RIDES with ROGER – AUGUST   Smuggler’s Notch in Stowe Vermont is a windy road and tractor trailers although forbidden to drive it try and get stuck. It’s a fun ride. Also the toll road that climbs Mt Mansfield has breath taking views!

RAD ROVER RIDES with ROGER – OCTOBER This ride starts with a picture at Wrightsville Dam in Montpelier then on to Berlin Pond, Sodom Pond in Adamant VT and ends on the back roads of East Montpelier Vermont.

Written by Roger

August 24, 2016 at 12:09 PM

Leave a Reply

