Beyond The Score

Central Vermont Sports Blog

Girls’ High School Lacrosse

with one comment

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted to this blog. I have a long list of lazy excuses but will only share the most recent. January 30th I had foot fusion surgery. It’s a big deal and recovery has been slow. I’m sure it has a lot to do with my age, condition and people I hang out with. After several years of hobbling along with bad feet I decided to take my doctors advice and have surgery on my left foot. Basically they shaped several bones in my foot and then screwed them together to make one big bone. Here’s the latest X-RAY!

My Left Foot

I spent several weeks in bed, foot above my heart, looking at the ceiling. After lots of drugs, infections, knee walkers, crutches, plaster casts, air cast, and now physical therapy, I’m starting to walk again. It’s been a long drawn out process and I’m glad I’m back doing things I love to do. Even if at a slower pace with a bit of a limp.

What does all this have to do with the title of my post? The reason I mention all this medical stuff is because it brought me to Choice Physical Therapy at First in Fitness in Berlin, Vermont. They’re helping me get going again. I was talking to them about some pictures I have been taking of the Montpelier High boys lacrosse team for parents.

High School Sports Pictures

MHS Boys Lacrosse

We started talking about the difference between boys and girls lacrosse. That’s when I stuck my big foot in my mouth and started to regurgitate some one-liners about girls’ lacrosse that I’ve heard. I thought I was being funny by saying that girls’ lacrosse is very slow because of the “5 Second Rule”; definition: officials have to blow the whistle every 5 seconds whether something happens or not. Of course there is no such rule and I felt pretty stupid for saying it. I have watched many girls’ games and enjoyed the flow of the game. I have a lot of respect for any athlete that competes in any sport no matter the level of skill. Sometimes I say the dumbest things trying to be funny!

My sick humor got one of the physical therapists attention. She just happens to be the U32 girls varsity lacrosse coach. Her team is undefeated with a record of 15-0. She said I needed to come watch her team play sometime and that I’d learn what high-level lacrosse is all about. My red face was masked as exertion from the physical therapist working my foot. I feared my stupid comment had offended her and said I’d gladly go to the next couple of games.

I obviously know the difference between girls and boys lacrosse. Simply, boys lacrosse is a contact sport. They wear lots of protective equipment and muscle their goals. Girls lacrosse is a non-contact sport and they wear goggles to protect their eyes. Otherwise, no protective equipment except for the goal keeper. It’s a sport that emphasizes speed and finesse. Although it is a non-contact sport it is still very physical. Their goals are more strategy and team movement.

So I went to a couple of games as I promised and got to see a very highly skilled team move the ball at will anywhere they pleased and with much precision and grace. They were very fluid and accurate. They worked well together and obviously understand how a team is supposed to play a sport. Unfortunately, the competition was very weak and no match for the Raiders. I’m looking forward to the playoffs. I want to see how they perform when they are challenged by another highly skilled team. I have seen their skill. Now I want to see their heart. They have a new fan.

U32 vs Stowe

It is so good to be watching high school sports again after the long winter of being confined to focusing on healing my foot.

Vermont Mountaineer baseball starts soon. Now that’s real summer!

Written by Roger

June 2, 2013 at 1:05 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When played with skill, lacrosse is a great game. Some boys’ games become “smash and bash” when slill is lacking. I tend to prefer the girls’ game. GO U-32!!

    Newton Baker

    June 2, 2013 at 9:43 AM


Leave a Reply

